Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons
These individuals pay no property taxes.
Must be a single-family residence Seniors must sign up for
Age 65+ OR permanently and totall owned and occupied by the person the exemption every year.
Over 65 and Disability g P ¥ ) y e P . v 'p' Helps lowest income P vy
Alabama Exemptions disabled AND net annual taxable income |claiming the exemption. Individuals 65+ seniors Many people are unaware
P is less than $12,000 a year with incomes over 12,000 pay no state and don't sign up
property taxes but receive a smaller annually.
exemption of county property taxes.
Must apply for the exemption by a
. PRl P . y Increase in 65+
deadline. Exempts up to the first opulation is decreasin
. . $150,000 for the primary residence of a pop . &
. . . Age 65+, OR a disabled veteran with a . . . the taxable property in
Senior Citizen Exemption (state . L senior. The statute says the state will Helps many seniors .
Alaska service connected disability of 50% or . o the community.
mandated) reimburse municipalities the costs of afford property taxes . .
more . . i Statewide, so individual
the exemptions, but this hasn't . , el s
e cities can't decide if this is
happened. Municipalities can choose to apbropriate or not
offer exemptions in excess of $150,000. pprop ’
Program freezes the limited property
value of the property for three years,
1 property owner must be 65+; property . brop y_ y
. . even if future values increase or .
must be primary residence; must have 2 . , Helps protect against |If future home values go
. . ) decrease. Note that it doesn't freeze the| . . .
. Senior Property Valuation years of residency at the address; gross . . rising property down, seniors are left
Arizona e " . . tax bill, just the property valuation. . )
Protection ("Senior Freeze") income limits - $37,008 for one owner, values; Age and paying higher taxes than
Changes to the property such as new .
$46,260 for two owners; must complete . L . income based normal
) e construction or demolition will remove
income verification
the freeze. Must reapply every three
years.
be age 70+ AND be owner of the
. & . . . Individuals can defer their property
residence, have lived in the residence for .
. . taxes for a year if they meet these
at least 6 years and lived in AZ for at requirements. must reanolv every vear Taxes are eventually
. . least 10 years AND may not own or have a ’ PP yyear. paid, helping produce |Stringent income
Arizona Senior Property Tax Deferral Postpones the payment of taxes to

any interest in another residence AND
taxable income can't exceed $10,000
AND property's full cash value can't
exceed $150.000

when the applicant dies, ownership of
the residence is transferred, or the
applicant moves.

revenue for the
government

requirement




Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons
Freeze on the taxable value of a No income or residency
homestead property. The freeze is Helps seniors forecast|requirement; doesn't
. Age 65+ OR disabled (on social security . property p g
Arkansas  |Senior Property Tax Freeze disability) removed if you add on to the home, their property tax solve the problem of not
¥ millage rate increases, or if a bond issue [rates being able to afford
occurs. property taxes
Allows applicants to postpone property
Other taxpayers and the
Age 62, blind, OR have a disability AND [taxes until the owner: moves or sells, pay
. . . ] ) Taxes are eventually |new owners of the home
own and occupy the residence AND have |transfers title, refinances, dies, obtains . .
] ] . o paid, helping produce |take on the tax burden.
California  |Property Tax Postponement total household income of $35,500 or a reverse mortgage. A lien is placed on . .
o revenue for the The equity requirement
less AND have at least 40% equity in the |the property to ensure repayment. The
o L government may hurt those
property program isn't guaranteed due to limited . .
i moving/downsizing.
funding.
Allows the transfer of the base year Great for people
value of your current residence to a moving or downsizing
California  |Propositions 60/90 Age 55+ in eligible counties newly acquired residence, which much |(prevents the shock |Limited geographic region
be of an equal or lesser value. Only can |of new high property
do this once. taxes)
The state makes payments for the taxes No income requirement -
Age 65+ OR a military veteran AND must . pay . Allows all seniors the [program may be overly
due, which creates a loan/lien on the . .
Colorado |Property Tax Deferral own and occupy the property AND all . option to defer their |generous. Other
. . home until sale or transfer of the
previous property taxes must be paid property taxes taxpayers may have to
property. .
pick up the burden
Age 65+ OR surviving spouse, OR a 50% of the first $200,000 in actual value . .
. . . . No income requirement,
. permanently disabled veteran AND must [of the primary residence is exempted Reduces the property . .
Colorado Property Tax Exemption hurts seniors moving into

have owned and occupied the property
as primary residence for 10 years

from taxation. The state pays the
exempted portion.

taxes owed

a new home

Connecticut

Elderly/Disabled Tax Relief
Program

Age 65+ OR totally disabled AND must be
a resident for 6 months and one day
AND must meet income requirements
(single person $36,000, married couple
$43,900, no asset limit)

There is tax credit of up to $1000 for
single individuals and $1250 for
married.

Credit amounts are
based on a gradual
income scale

Depending on the amount of
property taxes owed, they
may still not be affordable.




Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State

Policy

Eligibility

How it works

Pros

Cons

Connecticut

Renter's Rebate Program

Age 65+ OR surviving spouse OR on SSD
AND must have lived in CT for 1 year
AND must meet income eligibility
(535,000 for single, $43,000 for married)

Provides direct and partial
reimbursement of rent and utility bills,
can be up to $700 for single people or
$900 for married.

Helps renters, an
often excluded group

Some may view this as
unfair as renters get
direct reimbursement
while homeowners get a
credit

Senior School Property Tax

Receive a tax credit against school
property taxes of 50%(up to $400).

Reduces tax bill for
seniors; Makes it

Delaware Age 65+ AND a resident for 10 years No income requirement
Credit & ¥ Individuals don't have to reapply every |easier for schools to 9
year to receive the credit. pass referendums
Florida gives tax
exemptions for residents
of all incomes includin
. . Residents aged 65+ are eligible for a . All seniors are being &
Florida Homestead Exemption . Specific to each county homes that could be
homestead exemption of up to $50,000 helped .
worth millions.
Inheritability - No waiting
period.
Age 62+ AND income of applicant and Since most people rely on
; ; : ' . . Reduces property ] . ;
. Exemption for Education their spouse can't exceed $10,000 (not |Can claim an exemption from all and . pensions/social security,
Georgia ) ) ) o ) taxs for low income o
Purposes including pensions, disability, other valorem taxes for educational purposes. seniors this isn't as income-
retirement sources) restricted as it seems
Age 65+ AND income of applicant and Since most people rely on
] \ . . Reduces property ) . .
. . their spouse can't exceed $10,000 (not |Can claim a $4,000 exemption from all . pensions/social security,
Georgia Homestead Exemption . . . o taxs for low income o .
including pensions, disability, other county and valorem taxes. seniors this isn't as income-
retirement sources) restricted as it seems
Hawaii No statewide senior property tax breaks
Age 65+ OR blind OR widow/widower OR|Reduces property taxes on a Helos a variety of Reductions are large for
former prisoner of war OR recognized as [homeowner’s primary Idaho residence vuI:erabIe inc}/ividuals those making extremely
Idaho Property Tax Reduction Program |disabled by a public retirement systems [and up to one acre of land by as much . low incomes; people in 20-
. . as opposed to just ]
OR fatherless or motherless child under |as $1,320, based on income tax age based 30k may still need more
18 brackets. 8 assistance
The eligible can save up to $350 in No income limit; savings
L. Senior Citizen Homestead property taxes. (They can save even . may not be enough
lllinois Age 65+ Helps all seniors

Exemption

more if using the Homeowner
Exemption.)

depending on size of tax
bill




Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons
Over time, this
Exemptions reduce the Equalized program may result
Assessed Value (EAV) of your home, in taxes changing
which is multiplied by the tax rate to minimally or
llinois Senior Citizen Assessment Freeze |Age 65+ AND household income limitis |determine your tax bill. The senior sometimes Other property taxpayers
Exemption $65,000 freeze exemption works this way: decreasing as may pick up the burden
Eligible senior citizens automatically surrounding
receive a reduction of at least $2,000 in |properties continue
the EAV of their homes. to rise in assessed
value
This program works like a loan from the
State of Illinois to qualified senior
.\ . . State eventually gets
. ... |citizens, with an annual interest rate of .
.. . . Age 65+ AND household income limit is . their money; More .
lllinois Senior Citizen Tax Deferral 6%. Any portion or all (up to $5,000 per . Interest rate seems high
$55,000 . reasonable income
year) of the tax may be deferred until limit
the house is sold or until the death of
the taxpayer.
Applicant’s (and spouse) adjusted gross
income must be less than $25,000 AND
assessed value of the property must be |The eligible will receive a reduction in , .
. } More reasonable Can't receive any other
Indiana Over 65 Deduction less than $182,430 AND the applicant your home's assessed value of $12,480, cligibilit roberty tax deductions:
could also be a 60+ year old if their or half the assessed value, whichever is & ] y P p y . !
. requirements low income limit
deceased spouse was 65+ AND applicant |less.
must have lived in property for at least 1
vear
AGE 65+ AND qualified for the
homestead standard deduction AND The program limits how much your Helos keep taxes at a Doesn't help taxes that
Indiana Over 65 Circuit Breaker Program |gross income of $30,000 or less (540,000 |taxes will increase each year, taxes will mar?a eatfle level are already too high; Low
for married couples) AND gross assessed |increase no more than 2% each year. g income limit
property value of $160,000 or less
lowa Property Tax Credit for Senior Age 65+ OR totally disabled AND the Provides a credit, no additional N/A Low income limit
and Disabled Citizens income limit is $23,216 information available
. Age 65+ AND household income limitis [Structured as a refund; equal to 75% of [Decreases the total |Seniors still have to come
Kansas Property Tax Relief for . . . . .
Kansas $19,800 AND appraised value of the the property tax paid. Seniors must pay [tax burden for low- [up with the money which

Low Income Seniors

home can't be more than $350,000

the tax before they receive a refund.

income seniors

could present a hardship




Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons
For 2019-20, the exemption is $39,300. People who are not in
This amount is deducted from the Anyone 65 and older [need of a tax break can
Kentucky |Homestead Exemption Age 65+ OR classified as totally disabled |appraised value of the applicants home. |will be helped by this [still get a tax break just
Their property taxes would then be exemption because they are 65 years
assessed on that new value. old
The freeze is income requirement is
Age 65+ OR permanent disability OR Freezes the assessed value of a . e d .
. . . . . permanent, which difficult to find; The
Louisiana |Senior Freeze surviving spouse of a service member property; once you receive the freeze, . .
. . . results in long-term  |freeze stays even if
AND meet income requirement you have it forever. . . .
affordability income increases.
Taxes are deferred which results in a
No statewide program; Age 70+ AND must have resided in the . Helps taxpayer while
. . lien on the home. Payment must be . o
. municipalities have the option to |property for at least 10 years AND ) making sure Age limit is higher than
Maine . . , made when the taxpayer dies, someone
instate a Property Tax Deferral |income can't exceed 300% of federal government most states
. . else becomes the owner of the .
for Senior Citizens poverty level eventually gets paid
property.
Maryland No statewide senior property tax breaks
Age 60+ AND owned a residential Seniors can work off up to $1,500 on . .
. . . . L. Unfair to those with
Senior Property Tax Work-Off property for at least three years AND their property tax bill by volunteering  [Engages seniors in R .
Massachusetts . o . . . disabilities or illness who
(Boston) gross income limits of $40,000 if single, |for a city agency (125 hours at the community
. . cannot work
$55,000 if married $12/hour).
Homeowners: Massachusetts property
tax plus 1/2 the water and sewer
expenses must exceed 10% of total
Age 65+ AND occupy the residence as P . 0 Helps both renters
i ) ) Massachusetts income for the year It may be hard for some
. . .. |primary home AND don't exceed income and homeowners; . .
Massachusetts [Senior Circuit Breaker Tax Credit |,. . . Renters: 1/4 of your annual seniors to determine if
limits (58,000 single, 73,000 head of More reasonable ..
e Massachusetts rent must be more than |, . they are eligible
household, 88,000 married filing jointly) income limits
10% of your total Massachusetts
income for the year. Credit is up to
$1,100.
ualified homeowners can defer up to
Age 65+ AND have lived in MA for 5 Q . P . .
ears (though not consecutive) AND half the assessed value of their home, [Government gets Low income requirement,
Massachusetts |Property Tax Deferral y & with interest. Deferral ends when paid; helps seniors especially due to high COL

gross income can't exceed 20,000 (which
can be increased by vote of the town)

homeowner dies or property is

transferred.

stay in their homes

in MA




Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons
Age 65+ OR surviving spouse AND lived
. & UrVIVIng spou WV Credit is equal to up to 100% of the . .
- .. |in Ml for at least 6 months AND taxable . Reasonable eligibility [Other taxpayers pick up
Michigan Homestead Property Tax Credit ) amount their property taxes exceed .
value of home is less than $135,000 AND . requirements the burden
. . 3.5% of their income, up to $1,200.
total income is less than $60,000
Taxpayer initially pays an amount equal
to 3% of last year's household income'
Age 65+ AND total household income X y .
. . . the state pays any amount over 3% Equitable payment . .
. Senior Citizens Property Tax less than $60,000 AND applicant must . . Must have lived in home
Minnesota . which creates a lien on the property for taxpayers and
Deferral Program have owned and occupied the home for . . for 15 years
which accrues interest. The deferral government
at least 15 years . .
terminates when house is sold or
applicant dies.
The eligible can be exempt from taxes Decreases the tax Not a lot of information
Mississippi  [Senior Property Tax Exemption [Age 65+ OR totally disabled on the first $75,000 true value of their . .
burden for seniors on this program
home.
Age 65+ OR 100% disabled AND pay real
estate taxes or rent on the home yo
X . you Can receive a credit based on the real .
occupy AND owned and occupied your . Credit program; does not
. . . . . . estate taxes or rent paid for the year. Income and age
Missouri Missouri Property Tax Credit home for the entire year and earned less . . reduce the property value
. . The credit max for renters is $750 and  |based
than $30,000 single or $34,000 married owners is $1.100 of the home
OR rent and earned less than $27,500 e
single or $29,500 married
Age 62+ AND lived in Montana for at
The Montana Elderly & . veat . . If an individual qualifies, they can More reasonable Does not reduce the
. least nine months AND have lived in the . -
Montana Homeowner/Renter Credit . receive up to a $1,000 refundable eligibility property value of the
Program same house for at least six months AND income tax credit requirements home
& have a household income under $45,000 ) q
Provides relief from property taxes by
exempting all or a portion of the taxable|The local level will Any senior citizen could
Age 65+ OR qualified disabled individuals|* . P & all or @ Port X _ verwl y senior citizen cou
. . ) . |value of the residence. The State of still get the taxes get the exemption. (Not
Nebraska [Homestead Exemption OR qualified disabled veterans and their . . . . . . .
. Nebraska then reimburses counties and [from this exemption |just helping those in need
widow(er)s . ) .
other government divisions for the from the state of financial support)
property taxes lost to the exemption.
Nevada No Senior Citizen Property Tax Breaks




Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons
Age 65+ AND resided in NH for 3+ years . . There are rules that
. . . Towns and cities set the details for the .
before applying AND own residential real ) . . help eliminate Each town can have a
New . exemption but there is a minimum . .
. Elderly Exemption estate AND property cannot be . cheating the system |different rule on how
Hampshire . . exemption of $5,000 off the assessed . ) .
transferred to the applicant within the (i.e. Transferred their seniors are taxed
. home value.
past five vears property)
Age 65+ OR receiving SSD AND lived in NJ|Reimburses applicants for increases in . .
. . . . . Individuals can Individuals have to pay
. continuously since 2007 AND owned and |their property tax or mobile home site . . .
New Jersey |Senior Freeze ] . . . transfer the freeze if |the full bill, which may
lived in home since 2014 AND total fee. Individuals have to pay the full tax thev move resent a hardshi
income less than $89,013 bill before they are reimbursed. ¥ P P
New Mexico No statewide senior property tax breaks
Age 65+ AND combined income must not The amount that a
exceed $58,399 AND must own the property is reduced
property for at least 12 consecutive The value of the home's assessed value |by is determined by .
. . . . - . Those who are in need of
Senior Citizen Homeowners months prior to filing for the exemption |can be decreased by 5% to 50% need. (Those who . .
New York ] ) . the most help will receive
Exemption (SCHE) AND all owners must occupy the depending on the amount of income need the most money the most hel
property as their primary residence your household is making. will receive the most P
except in cases of divorce, legal assistance/reduction
separation, or abandonment based on income)
Tenant listed on the lease or rent order
AND 62+ OR receiving Federal Disabilit The rent is frozen at
. & . . y The Department of Finance will freeze . There is no help/coverage
Senior Citizen Rent Increase Assistance AND household income is less our rent at either your prior rent the higher of the two for utility and rental costs
New York than $50,000 AND live in a rent ¥ y P numbers which helps ¥

Exemption (SCRIE)

regulated apartment AND spend more
than 1/3 or your monthly income on
rent

amount or at one-third of your monthly
income, whichever is greater.

the individual save
the most money

such as gas, electric,
cable, etc.

North Carolina

Elderly or Disabled Property Tax

Exclusion

Age 65+ OR totally and permanently
disabled AND total income for both an
applicant and spouse cannot exceed
$43,500

Reduces the first $25,000 or 50% of the
permanent residence tax value. NC will
use the higher of the two.

Chooses the higher of
the two options
(Which will save the
individual more
money)

Other taxpayers pick up
the burden
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North Carolina

Circuit Breaker Tax Deferment
Program

Age 65+ OR totally and permanently
disabled AND total income for both an
applicant and spouse cannot exceed
$43,500

Limits the property taxes to a
percentage of the owner's income.
Taxes that are above the limit are then
deferred to a future date. The last 3
years of deferred taxes must be paid
with interest if three events occur. 1) If
the owner dies 2) transfers the property
to another who doesn't qualify 3)
Failure to use the home as primary
residence.

There is a system set
in place to keep
participants honest to
the program

A new application must
be completed each year

North Dakota

The Homestead Property Tax
Credit

Age 65+ OR permanently and totally
disabled AND income is less than
$42,000

The homestead credit will reduce the
homeowner's home value according to
a schedule. (Lowest income can get a
maximum reduction of $125,000 while
highest income ($42,000) can get
$12,511 off of their home value)

There is a wide range
of reductions
depending on income
need

No mention of how long a
person has lived in the
state

North Dakota

Renters Refund

Age 65+ OR permanently and totally
disabled AND income is less than
$42,000

Provides renters a partial refund on rent
paid for living. Refunds can be up to
$400. When 20% of your annual rent
exceeds 4% of your income, you receive
a refund for the overpayment of rent.

Renters are also
covered for property
assistance

The max assistance is
$S400

Age 65+ OR totally and permanently

Shields some of the market value of
their homes from taxation. Qualifying

25,000 off of market
disabled OR surviving spouse of a person |homeowners can exempt up to $25,000 \S/alue can be The exact amount of
Ohio Homestead Exemption who was receiving the exemption at the |off the market value of their homes . . savings varies from
. . significant for seniors . )
time of death was 59+ at the time of from all local property taxes. The exact in need location to location
death. Maximum income is $32,800 amount of savings varies from location
to locations
The property value will be frozen at the Still will be payin
Age 65+ AND own and occupy the property . D Paying
. . ) taxable value after all increases and No annual application|property taxes but the
Oklahoma |Senior Valuation Freeze property AND gross household income

cannot exceed $69,400

adjustments have been made the year
the application is made.

is required

property value will freeze
in time




Senior State Property Tax Breaks

State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons

Age 62+ OR Disabled AND own of be
buying the property AND own and lived
on the property for 5+ years AND have

homeowners insurance that covers fire Extremely in depth
and other casualty AND household If yo alify, the Oregon Department alifications list. Other
Property Tax Deferral for . . uatty ! youqu |y' & L p quall I I !
Oregon . . . income is less than $45,500 AND your of Revenue will pay the individuals (Age, income, and taxpayers/government
Disabled and Senior Citizens . ) . .
net worth is less than $500,000 AND you |county property taxes. lived in the state for |pick up the burden
don't have a reverse mortgage OR you 5+ years)

were on the property tax deferral
program with a reverse mortgage prior
to 2011.

This is a need-based
Money is given based on need. Renters |program meaning
Pennsylvania's Property Tax/Rent|Age 65+ AND have a household income |may also qualify for the program if they [that those who are in
Rebate Program of less that $35,000 have a household income of $15,000 or |the most need will
less. get the highest
consideration

Pennsylvania Only in certain cities in PA

Age 65+ OR 62+ and collecting Social Helos all senior
Rhode Island |Elderly Exemption Security Retirement Benefits AND Lives [Maximum exemption is #27,181. citizpens Not income based
in their home

Property taxes in

The first $50,000 of the fair market .
South Carolina are

All elderly people can get

. . Age 65+ AND resided in the state for at |value will be exempt from municipal, an exemption, not just
South Carolina |Homestead Tax Exemption . generally already low
least one year county, school, and special assessment without the those who really need
real property taxes. . assistance
exemption
Only extremely low
Age 66+ OR collecting Social Security income individuals will
Disability benefits, AND been a South receive a refund. Only

Income and age

. Refunds are then calculated based on  |based calculations; L
year AND must not exceed income . . . |of senior citizens
income. helping those truly in

requirements ($12,490 for single- according to

member household and $16,910 for need Administration for
multiple-member household) Community Living and
Administration on Aging.

Dakota resident for the entire previous covers roughly a quarter

Sales and Property Tax Refund

h Dak
South Dakota for Senior & Disabled Citizens
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South Dakota

Assessment Freeze for the
Elderly & Disabled

Age 65+ OR disabled AND own your
home AND have resided for at least 200
days of the previous year in the single-
family home AND income limits
(528,279.43 for single-member
household and $35,349.28 for multiple-
member household)

Reduces the assessed value of the home
to lower property taxes.

Income and age
based calculations

The assessed value of the
property will be lowered
either with the house,
garage, and lot or the
acreage, whichever is less

South Dakota

Homestead Exemption Program

Age 70+ AND Owned a house for at least
three years OR have been a resident of
SD for at least 5 years

Delays the payment of property taxes
until the property is sold. Property taxes
are added up with a 4% accrued
interest. The total does not need pair
until the property is transferred.

Older individuals who
have lived in SD for a
good amount of time.

No income consideration
and the taxes will need to
be paid back plus some

Age 65+ AND own your primary home

Qualifying homeowners will have
property taxes on their primary home
frozen at a certain amount. They need

Income and age

Some individuals may not

Tennessee [Property Tax Freeze Program and use it as primary residence AND remember to apply every
. to apply annually and the amount owed |based
income cannot exceed $41,660 . . year.
for that property will not change even if
there is an increase.
Age 65+ AND own your primary home  [The State of Tennessee will reimburse
. and use it as primary residence AND certain homeowners who meet the Income and age Still need to pay your
Tennessee |[Property Tax Relief Program . . .
income cannot exceed $29,180 OR qualifications for a portion of all of the |based property tax each year
disabled veteran homeowner property taxes paid.
Texas Tax Codes require school districts
of offer $10,000 residence homestead |A minimum .
Only has local property taxes, L . . . ] . . Property tax exemptions
Texas Age 65+ and live in the residential home [exemption and a local residence deduction is put in .
not state . per county are different
homestead exemption cannot be less  [place by the state
than $3,000.
Utah No statewide senior property tax breaks
Vermont No statewide senior property tax breaks
Property Exemption for Elderly |Age 65+ OR permanently and totally On a gross income scale, the amount of | = . . .
Limited income and |Details and coverage
Virginia and Disabled (Details vary by disabled AND gross income does not relief ranges from 100% relief to 25% &

county)

exceed $72,000

relief.

age based

range per county in VA
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State Policy Eligibility How it works Pros Cons
Deferral of property taxes with 5%
Age 60+ OR retired for employment by accrual untiFI) repa r\r/1en)’z is r::lom Ie?ce
Property Tax deferral program  |reason of disability AND has a combined pay . plete. Family could be stuck
] L . . . Deferrals must be repaid when the Income and age . ]
Washington |for senior citizens and disabled |disposable income of $45,000 or less OR . . with paying back the
) home is sold, applicant passes away, or |based
persons retired for employment by reason of . . deferral.
o home is no longer used as the primary
disability .
residence.
Owner-occupied residential propert
. . W up! ! 1al property The first $20,000 of assessed value of All senior citizens will .
West Virginia |Property Tax Exemptions owned by 65+ OR by a person . . Not income based
. the home is exempt. receive help
permanently and totally disabled
Tax-Aide volunteers are trained in
cooperation with the IRS and DOR to . .
. . . . . Helping people file
Wisconsin  |[Tax Counseling for the Elderly Age 65+ OR disabled prepare basic income tax returns for . None
. their taxes accurately
free. Most of these sites offer free
electronic filing.
P ill def ty t
Age 62+ OR handicapped AND resident r-ogram W aeter property taxes
] . without accrual of deferred taxes. The |Income and age .
Wyoming |Property Tax Deferral Program |lives on land less than 40 acres AND Must refile every year

limited income

individual can receive up to 1/2 off
property taxes

based




City Senior Pro

erty Tax Breaks

City County Policy Eligibility How it works
A not-for-profit
age 60+ or disabled (receiving , .p I_
T . . organization with an
Property Tax disability payments), income is endowment fund
Columbus, OH Franklin p y based on 150% of Federal basic . '
Assistance Program o Helps seniors on an
needs standard. For individual, emergency/one-time
thats 16,245, for couple, 21,855. . gency,
basis only.
Indianapolis, IN  [Marion Only a statewide policy
Louisville, KY Jefferson Only a statewide policy
must have owned a residence in flat 30% discount of the
Allegheny county for 10 years, be [real property tax;
60+, surviving spouse or additional 2% if you pa
Pittsburgh, PA Allegheny Act 77 & .p i o ITyou pay
permanently disabled, income must|taxes by March 31. You
be $30,000 or less (include 50% of [don't have to refile to
SS benefit) receive each year
Cleveland, OH Cuyahoga Only a statewide policy
St. Louis, MO St. Louis Only a statewide policy
extends the due date
for summer taxes until
Lansing, Ml Ingham Summer Deferment 62+ or disabled .
Feb 14 (same as winter)
without penalty
must be 65+ or totally disabled,
have a combined household roperty taxes are
, income of $50,000 or less property
) . Tax Relief for the i reduced by 30% to
Richmond, VA Not in a county . (although first 10,000 from each .
Elderly and Disabled 100% depending on
household member other than .
household income
spouse can be excluded), must
have less than 200,000 of assets
Only statewid
Toledo, OH Lucas nly statewide
program
Only statewid
Lexington, KY Fayette nly statewide
program
freeze the tax due on
) . their propety at the
65+, owner of residence, income
Nashville, TN Davidson Tax Freeze amount for the year

can't exceed $41,660

they qualify, even if
rates increase




State
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Connecticut
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
lllinois
Indiana
lowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

Other

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/PropertyTaxExemptions 40-9-21.pdf
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/dcra/LocalGovernmentOnline/TaxationAssessment/Property TaxExemptionsinAlaska.aspx
http://www.yavapai.us/assessor/residential-property-tax-deferral
http://co.carroll.ar.us/countyassessor/images/forms/HomesteadCreditTaxFreeze.pdf

https://www.sco.ca.gov/ardtax fact sheet.html https://www.upnest.com/1/post/california-props-60-and-90-an-introduction/
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/treasury/senior-and-veteran-property-tax-programs
https://portal.ct.gov/OPM/IGPP-MAIN/Grants/Tax-Relief-Grants/Renters--Rebate-For-ElderlyDisabled-Renters-Tax-Relief-Program
https://www.cga.ct.qov/2012/rpt/2012-R-0236.htm

https://uwc.211ct.org/property-tax-credit-for-elderlydisabled/
https://finance.delaware.gov/financial-reports/senior-school-property-tax-relief/

https://www.deedclaim.com/florida/homestead/

https://dor.georgia.gov/property-tax-homestead-exemptions

https://tax.idaho.gov/n-feed.cfm?idd=3102
https://www.cookcountytreasurer.com/seniorcitizenassessmentfreezeexemption.aspx
https://www.indy.gov/activity/apply-for-over-65-property-tax-deductions
https://tax.iowa.gov/property-tax-credits-and-exemptions

https://www.ksrevenue.org/safesenior.html
https://revenue.ky.gov/Property/Residential-Farm-Commercial-Property/Pages/Homestead-Exemption.aspx
https://www.la-legal.com/louisianas-senior-tax-freeze/
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec6271.html

https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2018/01/02/dor-proptax-guide-deferrals.pdf
https://www.boston.gov/departments/elderly-commission/senior-property-tax-work-program
https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-43535 43538-155081--,00.html
https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/ss/ssscptdp.pdf
https://www.dor.ms.gov/Property/Documents/PropertyFAQ.pdf
https://dor.mo.gov/personal/ptc/documents/proptax.pdf
https://mtrevenue.gov/taxes/tax-relief-programs/montana-elderly-homeowner-credit/
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/news rel/feb 17/homestead exemption.html
https://smartasset.com/retirement/nevada-retirement-taxes
https://www.revenue.nh.gov/mun-prop/property/exemptions-tax-credits.htm
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr/

https://www1.nyc.gov/site/finance/benefits/landlords-sche.page

https://www1.nyc.gov/site/rentfreeze/apply/apply-renew.page

http://teammovemortgage.com/2015/06/20/nc-property-tax-discounts-programs/

https://www.nd.gov/tax/homestead/

https://www.tax.ohio.gov/real property/fags/homestead exemption fags/tabid/3074/Default.aspx?QuestionlD=2820&AFMID=9554
https://assessor.oklahomacounty.org/253/Senior-Valuation-Freeze

https://www.oregon.gov/DOR/forms/FormsPubs/deferral-disabled-senior 490-015.pdf
https://www.paelderlaw.com/how-seniors-can-get-discounts-on-their-real-estate-taxes/

http://www.providenceri.gov/tax-assessor/exemptions/
https://www.postandcourier.com/archives/south-carolina-a-top-state-for-retirees-due-to-tax/article 943d26f4-a483-58c6-8c3c-ffab8821d8a3.html

https://www.scbar.org/public/get-legal-help/common-legal-topics/south-carolina-property-tax-for-senior-citizens/
https://dor.sd.gov/Taxes/Property Taxes/Property and Sales Tax Relief Programs.aspx
https://www.tn-elderlaw.com/free-resources/blog/april-2018/programs-offer-property-tax-relief-for-elderly-di
https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax/exemptions/

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/pubs/pub-36.pdf

https://tax.vermont.gov/property-owners/exemptions

https://www fairfaxcounty.gov/taxes/relief/tax-relief-seniors-people-with-disabilities
https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/property-tax/property-tax-exemptions-and-deferrals
https://tax.wv.gov/Business/PropertyTax/Pages/Property TaxExemptions.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/pcs-vita.aspx#vitad

http://wyo-prop-div.wyo.gov/tax-relief

https://www.cga.ct.qov/2012/rpt/2012-R-0220.htm
https://acl.gov/sites/default/files/Aging%20and%20 Disability%20in%20America/2017 Older Americans Profile.pdf
https://www.taxpolicycenter.org/briefing-book/how-do-state-and-local-property-taxes-work




https://www.nd.gov/tax/homestead/

Columbus, OH https://treasurer.franklincountyohio.gov/Tax-Savings/PTAP
Pittsburg, PA  https://www.alleghenycounty.us/treasurers-office/senior-citizen-tax-relief.aspx
Richmond, VA http://www.richmondgov.com/Finance/documents/brochureTaxRelief.pdf




