Bookmark and Share
New Appointments To Historic Conservation Board

Cincinnati's Historic Conservation Helps Balance Development & Historic Conservation Needs

In an effort to re-energize the Cincinnati Historic Conservation Board, City Council today confirmed new members to the seven-member board. Last year, City Council voted to restructure the Historic Conservation Board with staggered, consistent term lengths of three years per term. The Administration recommended the appointment of five new members and the reappointment of one current board member to its Historic Conservation Board.

"I would like to recognize John Senhauser, the current Board Chair and the outgoing members for their many years of dedicated service," said City Manager Milton Dohoney, Jr. "Multiple community voices on citizen-led boards is healthy and allows us to create an even stronger government. These new board members will certainly enable economic growth to co-exist alongside our historic conservation goals and objectives."

Members presented by the City Administration to be considered for the Historic Conservation Board include:

  • Reappointment of Judith Spraul-Schmidt to the Historic Conservation Board as Board Chair.  Dr. Spraul-Schmidt is an Adjunct Associate Professor of History at the University of Cincinnati, Blue Ash College campus. Her three-year term is effective from June 24, 2013 to June 23, 2016. Dr. Spraul-Schmidt resides in Cincinnati.
  • Patricia Bittner, a licensed architect with Elm Street Town Homes with extensive experience in restoring historic properties will serve as the Board’s urban design professional. Ms. Bittner will serve a two-year term from June 24, 2013 to June 23, 2014. She resides in Cincinnati.
  • Mike Burson, an architect and CEO of Facility Management and Planning Services and the former Director of Facilities for Cincinnati Public Schools will serve as the Board’s architect. Mr. Burson will serve a three-year term from June 24, 2013 to June 23, 2016. He resides in Cincinnati.
  • Judi Craig, Vice President at Parsons Brinkerhoff with extensive experience in project management in transportation planning and community issues in our area will serve as the Board’s urban planner. Ms. Craig will serve a three-year term from June 24, 2013 to June 23, 2016. She resides in Cincinnati.
  • Jameson Muth, Transaction Manager with CBRE Global Corporate Services will serve in the area of real estate development. Mr. Muth will serve a one-year term from June 24, 2013 to June 23, 2014. He resides in Cincinnati.
  • David Zelman, an architect and project director with FRCH Design Worldwide will serve in the Board as a historic preservationist. Mr. Zelman will serve a two-year term from June 24, 2013 to June 23, 2015. He resides in Cincinnati.

"We are excited for our new Historic Conservation Board members and look forward to working with so many distinguished planning and architect professionals who will represent the Board in their areas of expertise," said Planning Director Charles Graves.

The new members were confirmed by a vote of Council at today’s City Council Meeting. The Administration's recommendation for new members of the Zoning Board of Appeals will go before Council within the next several months.