City Planning

City Planning

City Planning Commission


City Charter

According to the Charter of the City of Cincinnati, the City Planning Commission shall consist of seven members. One member shall be the City Manager or a person duly designated by the City Manager who may at any time serve as alternate member for the City Manager; one shall be a member of Council selected by it; and five shall be electors of the City of Cincinnati appointed by the Mayor.

As the term of each appointed member expires, the Mayor shall appoint a successor for a term of five years. All vacancies in the Commission for unexpired terms of appointed members shall be filled by the Mayor.

Each member of the Commission shall serve for the term of appointment and until a successor is appointed and qualified. All members of the Commission shall serve as such without compensation.

The powers and duties of the commission shall be to make plans and maps of the whole or any portion of the city and of any land outside the city which, in the opinion of the commission, bears a relation to the planning of the city, and to make changes in additions to and extensions of such plans or maps when it deems same advisable. Such maps and plans shall show the commission's recommendations for the location and extent of streets, alleys, ways, viaducts, bridges, subways, parkways, parks, playgrounds and other public grounds and public improvements, of public buildings and other public properties, and of public utilities whether publicly or privately owned, for water, light, sanitation, transportation, communication, power and other purposes; and for the removal, relocation, widening, extension, narrowing, vacation, abandonment or change of use of any of the foregoing public places, works, buildings, or utilities. Such maps and plans may also include the division of the city into zones or districts, in accordance with the commission's recommendations for the limitation and regulation of the height, bulk (including percentage of lot occupancy and set-back building lines) and use of buildings and other structures and premises in such zones or districts.

To learn more about the powers and duties of the City Planning Commission, please click here.


Current City Planning Commission Members

  • Mr. Daniel Driehaus, Chair
    • Current Term: December 10, 2014 - December 10, 2019
  • Mr. John Schneider, Vice-Chair
    • Current Term: March 14, 2012 - March 14, 2017
  • City Manager Mr. Harry Black (or his designee Ms. Sheila Hill-Christian or Mr. John Juech)
    • Concurrent with Term as City Manager
  • City Council Member Ms. Amy Murray
    • Concurrent with Term as City Council Member
  • Mr. Rainer vom Hofe
    • Current Term: May 4, 2012 - May 4, 2017
  • Mr. Ronald Koetters
    • Current Term: April 16, 2014 - April 16, 2019
  • Mr. Byron Stallworth
    • Current Term: October 8, 2014 - October 8, 2019



The City Planning Commission typically meets the first and third Friday of each month at 9 a.m. in the J. Martin Griesel Conference Room:

Two Centennial Plaza
805 Central Avenue, Seventh Floor
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

Individuals requiring special accommodations to participate in or attend any meeting should call the Department of City Planning at 513-352-4845 prior to the meeting day.

To access the City Planning Commission meeting schedule for the year 2016 click here.