Bookmark and Share
4 CHD Nurses Honored At Nightingale Awards

Four Cincinnati Health Department Nurses Recognized At Florence Nightingale Awards Ceremony

Cincinnati Board of Health congratulates four Cincinnati Health Department (CHD) nurses who were recognized at this year’s Florence Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing. The nurses will be recognized at 6 pm tonight at the Board of Health Meeting, in the Delores L. Bowen Auditorium located at 3101 Burnet Ave.

"Every day our public health nurses are committed to serving the city," said CHD Nursing Director Patricia Carlyn. "We are proud of the excellent work they do for patient care."

Michelle Daniels was a recipient of the Dean's List Award. Ms. Daniels is a pediatric nurse at the Elm Street Health Center and has been a CHD public health nurse for 14 years.

In addition, three CHD nurses were nominated for the Florence Nightingale Award; Kathy Reder and Nancy Brill, both public health nurses in the School and Adolescent Health division, and Kathy Frede, a nurse at the Elm Street Health Center.

CHD employs 91 public health nurses in a wide array of positions. Public health nurses work in many Cincinnati Public Schools (CPS). Some of the services these nurses provide include: hearing and vision screenings, oral health assessments, helping students with chronic illnesses, health education programs and identifying health hazards or potential communicable diseases schools.

CHD nurses also serve in health centers, Quality Assurance, Immunizations, Communicable Disease Control and provide in-home care through the Community Health Nursing program.

The Florence Nightingale Awards, presented by the Board of Advisors of the University of Cincinnati’s School of Nursing, recognize excellence in patient care of registered nurses from the Greater Cincinnati area. Patients, family or friends of patients, colleagues, physicians and other health care workers nominate nurses. The Board of Advisors then chooses six Florence Nightingale Award winners and 10 Dean's List winners.